Let Me Tell Ya: It’s Tough Being Perfect All the Time

Like a lot of people out there, I set high expectations for myself. Whether it be playing checkers or flossing my teeth, I want to do it and do it well. And not only that, I want to be the BEST at it.

For the most part, that mindset has paid off quite nicely for me. Are you telling me that no one in my family can beat me at Wii Sports Golf because of dumb luck? Nuh uh. Did I win a Spanish Conjugation Tournament against everybody in the sixth grade because they just let me win? I don’t think so. That took the heart of un campeon if I’ve ever seen one…

However, whether it be maturing, getting older, or who knows what, I’m starting to realize that trying to be perfect might be an unhealthy way to approach things. If I set too high of an expectation for myself, then that opens the door to constantly feeling like I should have done better and thinking I should have been flawless when that’s just not possible all the time.

To anyone that knows me, you probably think that I can do no wrong. And believe me, I understand why. There are plenty of reasons to think so, from impeccable teeth to extraordinary humming. Hey, what can I say. I’ve been going twice a day with Colgate as long as I can remember and I know how to carry a tune. Sue me.

But I’m here to say that even I, Dylan M. Woods, mess up sometimes. Happens to the best of us, right?

Here’s an example: this summer, I’ve been playing a lot of the video game Rocket League. Not to brag, but my skills are getting pretty savage. I mean, check out this play from the other day. Absolute beast mode.

In fact, I’ve been getting so good that I started to wonder whether there was anybody out there better than me. So I went on YouTube, and, um, let’s just say that there are probably a billion people better than me. And those are just the ones on YouTube.

To be honest, it kind of hurt watching all those videos of people that would whip my butt. I’ve only been playing for a few months, but it still took a ton of time and effort to get to the level I’m at now. And you’re telling me that there are still people a hundred times better than I am? Jeez.

When things like that happen, I’ve noticed that it sends my brain into a tailspin of negative thinking. Because of the expectations I set to be the cream of the crop, anything short of that feels like a failure.

At least for me, I always think that I found the magic way no one else did and that I’m the only one that’s smart enough to figure out how to get a six pack in two weeks. Then, when I inevitably fall short of my impossible expectation and see all those hotshots walking around with six packs, there comes the disappointment. It’s a vicious cycle, really.

I don’t know. Maybe it happens because that’s when you realize that being really good at something isn’t as easy as simply wanting to be. That the desire to be great might be the first step, but after that it’s only about how dedicated you are to improving all the time. Yeah, I like that.

Anyway, I know it’ll still be a long process to figuring out how my brain works. But I wanted to write this blog as a way of telling myself that it’s time to start letting yourself do things without having to make them perfect. In fact, I think I’ll only proofread this blog a few times instead of the usual 87. There’s a start.

I also wanted to share this random Kobe Bryant interview that showed up on my YouTube recommended page the other day. It gave me the idea for this whole blog and I think the words of wisdom are pretty powerful. Kobe was a genius.

Leave a comment