Both Celtics and Bruins Come Up A Tad Short on Saturday Night

For the whole week, I had been looking forward to this night.

It was Saturday night, the first one of the semester after a busy opening week of classes. And even better than having no homework to complete or Zoom classes to attend, the two Boston teams currently in season each had a dandy matchup on their hands.

The Bruins were facing Zdeno Chara for the first time as a Capital. The Celtics were playing the Lakers. I knew it had a chance to be epic and that we Boston sports fans could very well be treated to an enthralling couple of hours. And I was right. It was epic. It was enthralling. But unfortunately, this paragraph omits the bad news.

This one doesn’t. Both teams lost in excruciating fashion, or at least as excruciating as regular season losses get. The following is a first-person account of what unfolded:


The Bruins began the tragic night by allowing the Capitals to score the first three goals of the game. With the second period drawing to a close and the Celtics moments away from tipping off, I was grateful that the Sports Gods realized the dilemma of us Boston superfans and generously provided a solution: if the Bruins were going to get their brakes beat off, then at least we could forget the B’s and shift our full attention to the C’s.

However, the night’s fate shifted. Before the third period began, the Bruins added a powerplay goal off the stick of David Krejci. Then, with 13:57 remaining in regulation, Charlie McAvoy found Brad Marchand in front of the net for a second unanswered score.

At this point, the Celtics and Lakers had made their way into the second quarter. I had no choice. Desperate times call for desperate measures, so I went to the dual screen.

Normally, I can’t stand the dual screen. Whenever I use it, I feel my focus being torn into pieces. I have a troubled history with the dual screen method. After attempting it in vain for years, and having now reverted back to the much simpler one-screen approach, I’ve come to realize the dangers of setting up the extra device.

Instead of watching one game and truly enjoying it, I “watched” two games and only picked up bits and pieces. Instead of confining myself to one game and becoming an expert on it, I succumbed to the temptations of having a game for each eye, yet sacrificed the ability to think critically about the games. I got so caught up in the constant motion that I didn’t have time to actually process what I was seeing.

If you’re serious about watching sports, you have to prioritize the games that matter while only focusing on one thing at a time. Trust me, I have an elaborate system in place that took years to perfect. Watching sports is an art to me. Call me crazy, I couldn’t care less. I know I’m not the crazy one. You are.

But, in rare scenarios, I realize that putting one game on the TV and another on my laptop must be done. This was one of those rare scenarios.

So now, with my eyes racing up and down, left and right, and trying not to miss a beat of either game, the Bruins’ deficit remained at one goal.

And then, finally, it came: the equalizer. But do you know who didn’t see the equalizer in real time? That would be me. And why? Because as Charlie McAvoy sent a puck through the net, my eyes were watching the Celtics game on the other screen.

I learned of the goal a few seconds after it occurred, perhaps because Jaylen Brown had just made a layup, or maybe Alex Caruso’s shiny bald head diverted my gaze from the action on the ice. I don’t remember. But whatever the case may be, I blame the cursed dual screen method.

Still, I also have to be grateful for the dual screen, because it means two amazing games are being played simultaneously. And now, as each game advanced towards the finish, the dial of excitement had been turned up even higher.

The Celtics had cut a 10-point Lakers lead down to three at halftime. After McAvoy’s goal with 57 seconds left, the Bruins were headed to overtime with Washington. And I took it as a great sign from the Sports Gods that the Celtics halftime break coincided perfectly with OT in Washington, allowing me to go back the preferred one screen.

But it wasn’t a good sign, or even a sign at all. Despite all the magic involved in the 3-0 comeback, the Bruins’ night ended anticlimactically. They didn’t even touch the puck in OT, and could only watch as Alex Ovechkin fired a bullet past Tuukka Rask just 28 seconds in to give the Capitals a 4-3 win.

We still had the Celtics though, and from watching the first half I could tell their game would be excitedly decided in its final minutes. It was a terrific stage; Saturday night on national TV, a historic rivalry, and the defending champions (LeBron and AD) against an emerging wing duo (Tatum and Brown). And even better, all the main characters came to play.

Unfortunately, the swing vote came down to a player that, I figure, will be for the Celtics a main character on some nights and provide a supporting role on others. But last night, Kemba Walker was neither a leading man nor a complimentary piece. With his performance, he didn’t even earn the salary of an extra with no lines.

Still, somehow, after a terrific second half headlined by Jayson Tatum’s unbelievable behind-the-back pass and Marcus Smart’s distressing calf injury, the outcome of the game found its way into Walker’s hands.

But I shouldn’t get ahead of myself. Before the final sequence took place, it looked like the game had already been put to rest.

With the score 93-89 in favor of the Lakers, Jaylen Brown missed two free throws, and nothing infuriates me more than missed free throws. My rage then led to me to the conclude that the game was lost, especially after Dennis Schroeder made an and-one layup on the next possession. Now, the Lakers led 96-89 with 1:37 left.

However, by a measure of true will, the Celtics fought back. Jayson Tatum made two free throws after a silly foul by Schroeder. Then, following a missed jumper by Anthony Davis, Tatum gave Davis even more reason to sulk by hitting a jumper over the big man’s fingertips after some fancy dribbling. It was sexy.

And momentum kept rolling the Celtics’ way. LeBron got an offensive rebound off his own missed three, but then proceeded to dribble the ball off his leg and out of bounds. With 38 seconds left, Boston had the ball and only three points distinguished one 17-time champion from the other.

Out of a timeout, Tatum delivered with a made floater over Alex Caruso, giving him the last six points of the game and cutting the deficit to one, now with 32 seconds left.

Sigh, alright. I don’t really want to, but it’s time to describe the agonizing final sequence.

With Anthony Davis biding his time in the post, Kemba Walker made a swipe at the ball, and succeeded in knocking it loose. The Celtics had the ball back.

After the strip, it seemed like Jaylen Brown would have an easy layup. As soon as Walker made the steal, Brown streaked up the middle of the court waiting for a pass and the chance to put the Celtics ahead.

He got the pass, but he also got Caruso right in his grill. The gritty Lakers guard had, unfortunately, matched Brown stride for stride, and even poked the ball away. But Brown was able to recover and get the ball to Semi Ojeleye, who in turn gave it to Kemba.

Walker faked a three, dribbled inside the arc, and stopped and popped. I’m sure it’s a shot he’s made a million times, and it should have been a million and one after last night. As the ball traveled through the air, I had my arms up in anticipation of joy. Were we really going to pull this one out?!

Alas, the answer was no, the same response the Bruins had given us hours before. Kemba missed, capping a 1-12 shooting performance. Daniel Theis also got a chance at a putback, but he missed too.

Even after watching a frame-by-frame replay, I can’t tell if Theis’ shot would have counted, but it’s moot anyway. And no, they shouldn’t have called a timeout. Kemba should have made the shot.

So the Celtics lost, giving Boston fans an 0-2 record in terms of results, yet a 2-0 mark in terms of excitement. Unfortunately, both the ball and puck didn’t bouce our way last night. But you know what? I still had fun. That counts nearly the same and should not be forgotten.

I know it’s sad, but what are you gonna do? Let’s just turn the page and we’ll get ’em next time…

Leave a comment