A Brief Inquiry on My Hopes for This Year’s Celtics

Seeing that the Celtics just played their first preseason game last night, now seems like as good a time as any to wonder about what they might do this season. I had initially planned to complete this blog before the game yesterday, but by Browns-Ravens blog (which is the best thing I’ve ever written by the way check it out) took me a lot longer than expected.

It wasn’t like anything that happened in the game drastically changed my outlook of the team, though. We were without Tristan Thompson, Daniel Theis, and obviously Kemba Walker, so not too much can be taken away in terms of serious opinions. Preseason is not a time to draw conclusions anyway, save that I am thrilled to have the Celtics back in my day-to-day life.

There a few things I learned:

  • NBC Sports Boston showed an interview with Tristan Thompson, and he has a much better higher-pitched voice than I would have guessed.
  • Brian Scalabrine is really good at his job. There aren’t many people who could fill the shoes of Tommy Heinsohn, but he is on his way there. Scalabrine knows exactly what he is talking about and comes across as extremely genuine and honest, yet still a Celtics homer. He is Heinsohn’s gentler nephew.
  • Jeff Teague came out a little slow (at first sight I thought he might be some undrafted rookie) but he recovered and ended up making all four of his three point attempts. If all he does off the bench is make threes consistently, that is enough. I was a little surprised to see him not in the starting lineup (Smart started at point guard, Javonte Green at the other guard) but I would not totally be against leaving Teague as a reserve to start the season. You would think he would slide into a starting spot with Kemba out, but hopefully Walker comes back fairly soon and then I could understand not messing with the role originally planned for Teague.
  • I did not realize how much I missed watching Marcus Smart play defense and take charges. Even in the preseason, he treats us to brilliance on that end.
  • One last thing: after just a few minutes I could perceive the glaring lack of wing depth in the rotation. After Brown and Tatum, neither Javonte Green nor Semi Ojeleye are competent enough to play a consistent bench role. I hope Aaron Nesmith could develop into that player, but it cannot be counted on in his first NBA action. If/when the Celtics make a move with that gargantuan trade exception, it will be for a wing scorer off the bench (as long as there are no more injuries, of course).

Ok, now for just a few things I am looking for this season just to get them on the record. I hope I remember to look back at the following paragraphs over the course of the regular season, for it would be helpful to remember what both my present self and, in the future, past self had in mind.

Overall, I think the Celtics are Finals contenders. I don’t see why they cannot compete with the Bucks, Lakers, or Clippers. While they may not be better than any of those teams, they belong in that first class. Of course that could all be changed depending on Kemba’s knee injury, but I believe Danny Ainge constructed this roster adeptly.

First you have the budding young duo of Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown. They are the core of the franchise. To get through us, you must get through them. With Gordon Hayward gone and now Kemba hampered for the start of the season, their shoulders need to be broad. Hopefully, we find that they are up for the task of becoming a Paul George and Kawhi Leonard type duo, although that may not be a combination to model yourself after, as we discovered in the offseason. Perhaps Paul Pierce and Antoine Walker, but the same rule may apply again. LeBron and D-Wade? Jordan and Pippen? Unrealistic expectations.

The point is that Tatum and Brown, now in their fourth and fifth seasons respectively, are approaching the point where they are expected to carry a top-tier squad. Will this be the year, or are they still too young? Perhaps it is my impatience, but if they do not show me something significant this season then I may conclude they are not quite good enough to pull the reins by themselves. That is why Kemba remains an important part of the puzzle, as do Marcus Smart and hopefully Tristan Thompson as grizzled veterans, though neither are particularly old. They are the supplements of the franchise, the mashed potatoes to our medium well steak.

While the loss of Gordon Hayward, in my eyes, put into place a new hierarchy that made much more sense, it also created little room for error in that hierarchy. With Kemba out, Tatum and Brown are the only consistent producers of offense. Smart, Robert and Grant Williams, and Semi Ojeleye tilt towards defensive proficiency. Jeff Teague could step up and endear himselves to the Boston fans with a fast start, and last night’s preseason game was an encouraging debut. The rookies, Nesmith and Payton Pritchard, will reveal themselves to us shortly. I do not lean either way on whether they will make a true difference, but I have a good hunch about Nesmith. He chose number 26, the same digits Kyle Korver wore his whole career.

Daniel Theis does not fit into the dream rotation I am building. Tacko Fall is also hard to place, and not just because the chairs are built for regularly sized human beings. Romeo Langford, recovering from wrist surgery, and Carsen Edwards still feel like rookies. Like Korver Nesmith and Pritchard, we will see if they provide anything of note.

You can talk yourself into the Celtics either way. A pessimistic fan sees a lack of experience and offensive talent. An optimistic one predicts leaps by Tatum and Brown, a speedy recovery for Kemba, and an addition on the horizon to hopefully supplement small but impactful minutes by our young bench.

I am the optimistic fan. Always have been, always will be. Though if they do not make the Finals this year, I may shift. I am sick of conference finals appearances. I would like to see my team in the Finals once again, and would it be too much to ask to have fans back by then, me being one of them?

I end with a warning: without a Finals appearance this year, this campaign may be it for Brad Stevens. You can only lead a horse to water so many times. I am fully on board with whatever he does this season, unless it results in yet another loss before the golden head-to-head clash with the other conference. To get the most out of Tatum and Brown, a new face on the bench could be required.

Time will tell. It should be a very entertaining season for the Boston Celtics, as it is an extremely important one as well. Just six days until the real fun begins after we wipe the floor with Kyrie in Friday’s preseason finale.

Leave a comment